Vasco Araújo

Vasco Araújo

Vasco Araújo uses photography, video and sculpture to explore how the trauma of the colonial encounter continues to haunt the modern world.

Amongst his solo exhibitions have been: “Decolonial desires”, Autograph ABP, London, U.K. (2016); “Under the Influence of Psyche”, The Power Plant, Toronto (2014); “Debret”, Pinacoteca do Estado de S. Paulo, S. Paulo (2013); “Eco” Jeu de Paume, Paris (2008); Dilemma (2005), S.M.A.K., Ghent.

Amongst his group exhibitions vave been: “Em Vivo Contacto”, 28º Bienal de S. Paulo, São Paulo (2008); “Artes Mundi, Wales Internacional Visual Art Exhibition and Prize”, National Museum Cardiff, Cardiff (2008); “Experience of Art”, La Biennale di Venezia. 51st International Exhibition of Art, Venice; “Dialectics of Hope”, 1st Moscow Biennial of Contemporary Art, Moscow, (both in 2005); “The World Maybe Fantastic” Sydney Biennial (2002), Sydney.

His work has been published in various books and catalogues and is represented in several public and private collections, such as at the Centre G. Pompidou, (France); Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian (Portugal); Museo Nacional Reina Sofia (Spain); Museum of Fine Arts, Houston (USA); Pinacoteca do estado S. Paulo (Brazil).

Vasco Araújo was born in 1975 in Lisbon, the city where he continues to live and work.

Parque Temático

HD Video / 08:44 min / 2016

Exploring the colonial iconography on display at the theme park “Portugal dos Pequenitos” (lit. Portugal for the Little Ones), spearheaded by the sculptures standing at the entry to the pavilions representing the former (Portuguese) colonies, Parque Temático addresses questions of human existence and freedom. Zeroing in on the power relations at play during colonialism and post-colonialism, the film discusses the troublesome dynamics of submission engendered by the history of slavery and segregation, congealed in the sculptures representing black figures, forever arrested in this condition.

Voices: Sofia Lobo; João Pedro Gama; Igor Lebreaud; Miguel Magalhães; Ana Pires Quintais;
Delfim Sardo; Vasco Araújo
Text: Vasco Araújo
Music: “Quartetto per Archi Nº1”, de/be Krzysztof Penderecki; “Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima for 52 Stringed Instruments”, de/by Krzysztof Penderecki